一般手術使用說明

手術後的說明

1. 我可以吃什麼樣的食物?
2. 停止出血會是什麼時候?
3. 我應該期待多少不適? 什麼可以儘量減少不舒服?
4. 癒合需要多長時間? 我工作畢業應該是?
5. 縫線將自行脫落?
6. 什麼樣的活動,我應該做/不做?
7. 當應叫醫生要是有什麼不對勁的?

1. 我可以吃什麼樣的食物?
拔牙術後, 你應該飲食只有液體的第一個星期. 什麼,你可以不加咀嚼吞下 (任何你可以放在攪拌器裡) 很好. 例子: 奶昔, 果凍, 布丁, 土豆泥, 肉汁, 蘋果汁, 蛋白奶昔, 冰激淋, 等. 不使用一根稻草. 進入第二周, 你可能會吃糊狀固體的食物,如容忍. 例子: 義大利面, 炒雞蛋, 煎餅. 如果你開始消耗常規的食物比建議的更快, 你可能體驗疼痛增加或可能會感染.

2. 停止出血會是什麼時候?
那裡是通常輕微出血拔牙後. 醫生通常把針和/或止血敷料止血. 提取網站將看起來比實際上更糟. 你是用紗布包出院回家. 有一個和卷成一個小球,然後咬下來. 更改每半個小時到一個小時,直到你看得很輕粉紅色. 去不到睡眠用紗布在你嘴裡. 出血後應停止 3-4 拔牙術後的小時. 不隨地吐痰或含漱液第一 24 小時. 隨地吐痰會增加出血. 如果繼續出血超過 24 小時立即聯繫你的醫生.

3. 我應該期待多少不適? 什麼可以儘量減少不舒服?
每個人都有不同的容忍度對疼痛. 您不能使用另一個家庭成員或朋友作為參考來衡量多少不適,您可能會遇到. 在一般情況下最腫脹和不適會在達到頂峰 3-4 天后程式. 延遲的腫脹有時被誤認為是感染,但這是正常的癒合過程的一部分. 在這段時間的腫脹可能會阻止你的嘴巴打開所有的方式. 儘量減少不適的最好方法是按照你給出的說明. 沒有與醫生討論不能改變劑量和給藥頻率. 你可能使用冰袋敷在臉上後程式的第一幾天以減少腫脹. 你不能抽煙的 2 拔牙術後的幾周. 吸入吸煙的行為,導致"幹槽症” 這是極其痛苦. 吸煙也增加了炎症和延遲癒合.

4. 癒合需要多長時間? 我工作畢業應該是?
外科手術的網站將需要幾個星期,完全康復了. 但是你應該逐漸回到正常功能在一到兩個星期內. 你可能會注意到一個小"孔” 在提取的地區. 它將與正常組織填寫時間. 我們建議您將工作或學校為期一周, 特別是如果你有智慧牙或多個牙齒中提取. 進入第二周你可能仍有殘餘不舒服,但大多數人回到日常活動.

5. 縫線將自行脫落?
大部分時間醫生會把在可吸收縫線. 他們做在時間中慢慢 resorb 但更經常的針軟化,打破一個接一個. 大部分時間醫生會把比需要的更多針. 運動的嘴 (吃, 談話) 可以鬆開針. 如果針做掉且沒有出血不要擔心. 它可能需要幾天達 2-3 周為針掉.

6. 什麼樣的活動,我應該做/不做?
你應當"低調” 為一到兩周. 建議臥床休息的最小活動. 你應該喝大量的液體,在這段時間. 不要在健身房鍛煉或至少玩體育活動 3 周. 智齒拔牙術後特別重要,是因為程式可以削弱下巴. 任何影響到下巴可以提下頜骨骨折,手術後甚至.

如果您收到了你的外科手術的麻醉; 你必須觀察或由另一個負責成人人陪同,過程的一天. 如果您收到麻醉藥物作為處方, 你必須不開車或操作任何機械,只要你開藥. 你不能在此期間消耗酒精飲料.

如果你有頂後面的臼齒,取出: 這些牙齒經常有根延伸到竇. 它是重要的不是為了防止竇感染在擤鼻子,至少一周.

7. 當應叫我醫生要是有什麼不對勁的?
如果,你應該馬上通知你的醫生:
– 出血是讚不絕口 (在血液中窒息)
– 出血是連續的 (仍在變化明亮紅色紗布後 24 小時)
– 劇烈的疼痛,通過藥物控制不好
– 皮疹, 蜂巢或呼吸困難後服用藥物,建議過敏反應
– 持續發燒持續超過 24 小時
– 從手術部位出來的放電

General Surgical Instructions

Post-Surgical Instructions

1. What kind of food can I eat?
2. When is the bleeding going to stop?
3. How much discomfort should I be expecting? What can I do to minimize the discomfort?
4. How long does it take to heal up? How long should I be out of work/school?
5. Will the stitches fall out by themselves?
6. What kind of activities should I be doing/not doing?
7. When should I call the doctor if I feel that something is wrong?

1. What kind of food can I eat?
After the extractions, you should consume only liquid diet for the first week. Anything that you can swallow without chewing (anything you can put in a blender) is fine. Examples: milkshakes, Jello, pudding, mashed potatoes, gravy, apple juice, protein shake, ice cream, etc. DO NOT USE A STRAW. Into the second week, you may eat mushy solid food as tolerated. Examples: pasta, scrambled eggs, pancakes. If you start to consume regular food sooner than suggested, you may experience increased pain or possibly get infection.

2. When is the bleeding going to stop?
There is usually minimal bleeding after the extractions. The doctor usually put stitches and/or hemostatic dressing to stop bleeding. The extraction sites will look worse than they actually are. You are discharged home with gauze pack. Take one and roll into a small ball and bite down. Change every half an hour to an hour until you see a very light pink. DO NOT GO TO SLEEP WITH GAUZE IN YOUR MOUTH. Bleeding should stop after 3-4 hours after extractions. DO NOT SPIT OR GARGLE FOR THE FIRST 24 HOURS. Spitting will increase bleeding. If bleeding continues more than 24 hours contact your doctor immediately.

3. How much discomfort should I be expecting? What can I do to minimize the discomfort?
Each person has different tolerance levels to pain. You cannot use another family member or friend as reference to gauge how much discomfort you might experience. In general the most swelling and discomfort will peak in 3-4 days after the procedure. The delayed swelling is sometimes mistaken as infection but it is part of the normal healing process. During this time the swelling may prevent your mouth to open all the way. The best way to minimize discomfort is follow the instructions that you are given. Do not alter the dosage and the frequency of the medication without discussing with the doctor. You may use ice packs on the face the first few days after the procedures to decrease the swelling. You must NOT smoke for 2 weeks after the extractions. The inhaling action of smoking causes “dry socket” which is extremely painful. Smoking also increases inflammation and delays healing.

4. How long does it take to heal up? How long should I be out of work/school?
The surgical sites will take a few weeks to completely heal up. However you should gradually return to normal function within one to two weeks. You might notice a small “hole” in the area of the extraction. It will fill in with normal tissue in time. We recommend that you be out of work or school for one full week, especially if you have wisdom teeth or multiple teeth extracted. Into the second week you might still have residual discomfort but most of the people return to daily activities.

5. Will the stitches fall out by themselves?
Most of the time the doctor will put in resorbable stitches. They do resorb slowly in time but more often the stitches soften up and break one by one. Most of the time the doctor will put in more stitches than needed. The motion of the mouth (eating, talking) can loosen the stitches. If the stitches do fall out and there’s no bleeding not to worry. It can take a few days up to 2-3 weeks for the stitches to fall out.

6. What kind of activities should I be doing/not doing?
You should “lay low” for one to two weeks. Minimal activities with bed rest are recommended. You should drink lots of fluids during this time. Do not work out at the gym or play sports activities for at least 3 weeks. It is important especially after the wisdom teeth extractions because the procedure can weaken the jaw. Any impact to the jaw can subject the jaw to fracture even after the procedure.

If you have received anesthesia for your surgical procedure; You must be observed and/or accompanied by another responsible adult person on the day of the procedure. If you received narcotic medications as prescriptions, you must not drive or operate any machinery as long as you are on the medications. You must not consume alcoholic beverages during this period.

If you have top back molars taken out: these teeth often have roots extending into sinus. It is important NOT to blow your nose for at least one week in order to prevent sinus infection.

7. When should I call my doctor if I feel that something is wrong?
You should notify your doctor right away if:
– bleeding is profuse (choking on blood)
– bleeding is continuous (still changing bright red gauze after 24 hours)
– severe pain not well controlled by medications
– rash, hives or difficulty breathing after taking the medications that suggest an allergic reactions
– persistant fever lasting more than 24 hours
– discharge coming out from the surgical site