病人信息

什麼是口腔頜面部手術?
“ 口腔頜面外科是專業的牙科,包括診斷和治療疾病, 損傷和缺陷同時涉及口腔頜面部的硬組織和軟組織的功能和美學方面。術語“頜面” 是指解剖區域的下巴和臉。”

– 美國董事會的口腔頜面外科

口腔頜面外科是一個獨特的專業橋接牙科和醫學。專業涵蓋疾病和病症或口周圍, 下巴和需要手術治療的面部區域。像任何其他外科專業, 廣泛的培訓是必需.

需成為口腔及頜面外科醫生的教育/培訓過程是什麼?
後 4 年的大學和其他 4 年的牙科學校, 畢業生可以選擇成為一個普通牙醫有或沒有額外的居留權。若候選人決定專注於任何 9 牙科專業, 附加居住是必需的。口腔頜面外科住院醫師通常包括額外 4 自 6 多年的牙科放學後訓練。嚴謹居住往往是在包括麻醉旋轉醫院環境, 普通外科, 重症監護, 內科, 加上其他相關學科,如耳鼻喉科或整形外科的旋轉。一個口腔頜面外科醫生誰完成了居住方案也經過培訓合格的在辦公室進行麻醉,並在辦公環境治療病人, 以及醫院和手術中心.

什麼才能成為一個委員會認證口腔及頜面外科醫生?
派駐服務完成後, 候選人可向口腔頜面外科美國委員會成為董事會認證考試的候選人。候選人必須證明的手術經驗證據的證明,並特命委員會進行審查,可以授予在考試前。候選人必須通過一個全面而嚴格的書面, 在有限的時間範圍內,然後口試變得板認證之前。董事會認證口腔頜面外科醫生必須在他/她的職業生涯每十年重新認證.

所有這意味著什麼呢我作為一個病人?
而培養口語和口腔頜面外科的過程是高度集約化和選擇性, 作為一個病人,你可以放心,你將提供最新的知識和護理.

所有這些訓練只是為了取出幾顆牙?
拔牙是最常見的口腔外科手術之一。它被認為是身體中的任何其他外科手術。一個人的病史, 藥物的歷史和過去的經驗可以對程序的結果的所有影響。隨著麻醉培訓, an Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon can help you as a patient to feel more comfortable.

Patient Information

What is Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery?
“ Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is the specialty of dentistry that includes the diagnosis and treatment of diseases, injuries and defects involving both the functional and esthetic aspects of the hard and soft tissues of the oral and maxillofacial region.  The term “maxillofacial” refers to the anatomic area of the jaws and the face.”

– American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is a unique specialty that bridges dentistry and medicine.  The specialty encompasses diseases and conditions in or around the mouth, jaw and facial region that require surgical treatment.  Like any other surgical specialty, an extensive training is required.

What is the education/training process required to become an Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon?
After 4 years of college and additional 4 years of dental school, a graduate may choose to become a general dentist with or without additional residency.  Should a candidate decide to specialize in any of the 9 dental specialties, additional residency is required.  Oral and Maxillofacial surgery residency usually consists of additional 4 to 6 years of training after dental school.  The rigorous residency is often in a hospital setting that includes rotations in anesthesia, general surgery, intensive care, internal medicine, plus other related disciplines such as ENT or plastic surgery rotations.  An Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon who completed the residency program is also trained and qualified to perform anesthesia in the office and treat patients in the office setting, as well as hospitals and surgical centers.

What does it take to become a board certified Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon?
After completion of the residency, a candidate may apply to the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons to be a candidate for the board certification exam.  The candidate must show proofs of evidence of surgical experience and be reviewed by credentialed committee before the exams can be granted.  The candidate must pass a thorough and rigorous written, then oral exam within a limited time frame before becoming board certified.  A board certified Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon must re-certify every ten years throughout his/her career.

What does all this mean to me as a patient?
While the process of training for an Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon is highly intensive and selective, you as a patient can rest assured that you will be provided with most up-to-date knowledge and care.

All these training just to take some teeth out?
Tooth extraction is one of the most common oral surgery procedure.  It is regarded as any other surgical procedures in the body.  A person’s medical history, drug history and past experiences can all impact on the outcomes of the procedure.  With training in anesthesia, an Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon can help you as a patient to feel more comfortable.